New Privacy Settings

 

Many of the settings that have been with the iPhone for years have seen an overhaul with the iOS 6 update, and now have some new features and an altered interface.

Privacy settings have been essential to smartphone use because it integrates more than just phone calls, and social networking and email are built right in.  Take a look at the new iPhone privacy settings that are seen in iOS 6 enabled devices.

When you go into the Settings you can find Privacy on the main page now, directly below Brightness & Wallpaper.  When you go into Privacy settings you will see that it actually brings together elements of a lot of other features and settings.  This is because you actually integrate your privacy settings into a range of different areas so that you can actually control what level of privacy you need.   This changes what it means to actually use Privacy settings on the iPhone, and instead this section categorizes things that may be considered Privacy settings by the user.  This means that the scope here is larger, but also less specific than before.  The format here is really to determine what apps have access to your integrated iPhone features.

At the top of the list is Location Services, and when selected it will take you into this area of the settings.  Here you are allowed to turn the Location Services On or Off as a whole, or you can choose to do it for specific applications like Camera, Maps, and Facebook.

Below that will be Contacts, yet this is a much simpler proposition.  In this section you simply have On / Off switches to have Facebook and Facebook associated apps tie into your Contacts.  This is a strange Privacy choice since it mainly migrates from your Facebook to your Contacts, though it could be an issue for those who require tight privacy protections on their iPhone.  Calendars works a similar way and there will be an On / Off switch for apps that could migrate over their Calendars to yours, such as LinkedIn.  After that will be Reminders and will list the same On / Off switches about apps that have requested to use Reminders.

 

The same set up is true for Photos, yet here may be even a little more pointed.  Many apps actually do have access to your images in Photos, such as Instagram and Facebook.  This allows you to work back and forth between Photos and your social networking tools.  You can again turn these On or Off; though keep them on if you use them regularly.  Below that will be a Bluetooth section that will let you turn On or Off connections between apps that are attempting to use Bluetooth.  At the very bottom of the list will be options for both Twitter and Facebook, as they are built into the iOS 6.

 

 

About shaneburley